Us Review

09/11/2019

I have a lot of problems with this film, but the main one may be surprising. The first half is boring.

Us builds to an exciting and extremely confusing (possible unearned) conclusion, but it doesn't make up for an hour of slowly unfolding, predictable, albeit well-shot slasher work. Also, for an R rated flick, the first hour is-dare I say-timid.

There are aspects that work very well. Lupita is outstanding, the camera work in some scenes is impressive, and the music is a major highlight. The ideas present and the long setup are also truly interesting, and kept me thinking for a while after the credits.

Another standout is the inclusion of Winston, who is a character type that is underrepresented in film. He is unique, fun, and well meaning; brave, but misguided. He is the only mildly interesting character out of the bunch, but didn't receive much screen-time.

Peele strays very closely to "if you don't like it you didn't get it" territory, which is a dangerous game to play in my book. He strays so close, in fact, he almost crosses the "I don't understand what I'm directing" line.


He also leaves some questions that go almost directly against most of the precedents that have been solidly built for the first two acts.

Maybe in a few years I'll re-watch it and I'll be more enlightened because I've read 6 explanations that all differ on BuzzFeed film.


5.8/10


Stanton Pruitt

The Fancy Lads
All rights reserved 2023
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started